Meet the Characters – Aphrodite from The Beginning and End of Us by Rose James

My guest today is author Rose James who is interviewing Aphrodite,  the protagonist from her debut novel, The Beginning and End of Us, published by Bookouture.  Let’s find out a bit about the book first:

Isn’t the cover evocative?

The-Beginning-and-End-of-Us-Kindle

Blurb:

Born in a honeysuckle-choked garden, a young woman discovers her true purpose in the world moments before she’s cast out of the only home she’s ever known.

Haunted by loneliness, she begins a journey to fulfil her destiny. It is a path that will lead her into the arms of four very different men – a dreamer, a fighter, an artist and a lost soul.

But could it be the secrets she left behind – and the one person she thought she had lost forever – that hold the answers to the questions she’s seeking? For while life may take you unexpected places, truth will bring you home…

Perfect for fans of The Time Traveller’s WifeThe Secrets of Lost Stones and The Light We Lost.

Reviews:

‘Breathtaking, heartbreaking… top of my best books of 2019.’ Fireflies and Freekicks Fiction

‘I was stunned.’ Chicks, Rogues and Scandals

Wow what an amazing book! This is my first from this author but won’t be my last. Absolutely amazing. Loved the story… Finished in a day. I couldn’t put it down it was so good.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘This book is beautiful and will make you see the magical all around you.’ Insights Into Books Blog

‘James’ descriptive, expressive, lyrical writing builds and blends an enchanting world of surreal pleasure of the senses with a magical mournful melancholyThe Beginning and End of Us is an enchanting, spellbinding read.’ Goodreads reviewer

If, like me, you think it sounds an intriguing story you can buy the book here:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07WVBK1KDSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2Zp1Jq8

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2Uglr1G

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/30LQ6Xa

The book is reduced across all platforms for a limited time and is on a Kobo Valentine’s Day promotion in the UK and Australia, priced at/ 99c/ppp.

Now over to Rose and her interview with Aprophodite:

Hi Aphrodite, thanks so much for coming to chat with me, it’s lovely to have you here.

Thanks, it’s lovely to be here, especially right before Valentine’s Day – perfect timing.

So, my first question is: as the living embodiment of love, why do you think the idea of it holds such fascination for people?

I think people are fascinated by love because of how beautiful and powerful it is. And because no matter how much we think we understand it, it’s still a mystery, and we’re never prepared for how profoundly it can change us.

What was it like growing up at Hearthfire?

Well, for me it was normal but I’m sure most people would find it really weird. It was like living in a sort of commune, I suppose. I felt really connected to nature and the universe, as well as my adoptive family. I still miss it a lot. It was the most ‘at home’ I’ve ever felt.

How did you end up becoming a Keeper?

I honestly don’t know. All I know is that I was taken to Hearthfire as a child and left there. I can’t even remember my parents or my life before, and to be honest I don’t really want to. It doesn’t matter now. I think I was born for this purpose.

You talk about the Songs being a soundtrack to your life – which is your favourite Song and why?

Hmm… that’s impossible to answer because they were all my favourites in the moment. I love that feeling when you hear a Song, and it’s like the words were written just for you and everything else goes silent. Music and love have that in common, don’t they? They can both stop time.

What made you decide not to reveal the names of the people you’ve loved?

Mainly I didn’t want to embarrass them by using their real names, but also I wanted to give them nicknames that said something about what they meant to me. Plus, the story isn’t just about me and the people I’ve loved, it’s about the nature of love itself, so I thought it was nicer to do it that way.

Your Path has taken you all over the world – do you have any top travel tips and is there anywhere you haven’t been yet that you’d really like to visit?

Oooh, yes, nasal spray and hand sanitiser so you don’t get nasty aeroplane germs! I never travel without them. And where would I go…? I still haven’t been to India, so that’s probably the next place on my list. I’ve heard it’s amazing.

If you could go back in time and give yourself one piece of advice, what would it be?

That’s tricky. Actually, I don’t think I would give myself any advice because then I might have made different decisions and never have ended up here. If I could go back in time I think I’d just enjoy some extra moments with the people I love.

Best Valentine’s Day ever?

Can I say tomorrow? I feel like it’s going to be the best one ever. I’m spending it with my special person and we’re just going to hang out, play some music, maybe watch TV… and probably have cheeky cuddles! Which is like every other day I suppose, but then every day feels like Valentine’s Day when you’re with someone you love, doesn’t it?

Do you think genuine love is possible in an increasingly superficial world?

Yes! Of course I do, it’s not even a question. People are still genuine, feelings are still genuine, you just have to trust them and trust yourself. I definitely think we all need to stop hiding our insecurities behind filters and fake positivity though. Flaws are beautiful, they’re what make us unique so we need to embrace them. That’s the only way to find genuine love: be your genuine self.

What’s the most important thing you want the world to understand about love?

It’s free so be generous with it! Offer it recklessly and accept it unreservedly. It never runs out, it only multiplies so the more you give the more you have; how amazing is that? Also, if it’s hurting you it’s not love, it’s something else. Love is healthy and healing. And always, always love yourself more than anyone else… OK, I think that’s everything.

Great, thank you so much, it was such a pleasure to meet you.

You too – happy Valentine’s Day everyone! Spread the love.

Want to find out more about Aphrodite? You can purchase the book here:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B07WVBK1KDSocial

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2Zp1Jq8

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2Uglr1G

Googleplay: http://bit.ly/30LQ6Xa

Meet Rose

_DSC8724 Final (2)Rose was born and raised in the Shropshire countryside, and has been writing stories and poems since she was a child. She graduated from the Open University in 2017 with a degree in English Language and Literature, and is currently studying for an MA in Creative Writing with Lancaster University.

Her debut novel The Beginning and End of Us was published by Bookouture in 2019, after being shortlisted in the Richard and Judy Search for a Bestseller competition in 2014. She is writing her second novel as part of her MA.

Rose works from home as a freelance writer, and among her favourite things to do are travelling, meeting new people, playing and writing music, rock climbing, and going on adventures in the nearby woodland with her dog, Evie.

Contact links:

https://twitter.com/RoseJamesAuthor

https://www.facebook.com/rosejamesauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/rosejamesauthor

Thank you for dropping by to talk to us about your book, Rose. Wishing you many sales. x

 


Twitter Header - Karen King

Sassy, heartwarming romances set in glorious locations: Amazon Author Page

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s